First Man on the Moon

Eight years after President Kennedy announced his commitment to space exploration, the Apollo 11 mission launch three astronauts to the moon: Neil Armstrong, Edwin “Buzz” Aldrin and Michael Collins. Neil Armstrong and Buzz Aldrin are the only two to walk on the moon during the mission.


NASA press publicity photograph of astronaut Buzz Aldrin, whose faceplate reflects astronaut Neil Armstrong while on the moon, July 16, 1969. William Barry III Collection/The Sixth Floor Museum at Dealey Plaza